Our Boards


The Utah Arts Council was established in 1899 by the Utah Legislature three short years after Utah received statehood. The Utah Arts Council became the Utah Division of Arts & Museums, which is the primary agency through which funds from the Utah State Legislature and the National Endowment for the Arts combine to stimulate and advance the arts in all their phases in the state. Our agency supports individual artists, arts and cultural organizations, and constituents by:

  • acting as a state coordinator and advisor
  • offering professional development
  • providing direct matching grants to more than 200 nonprofit organizations across the state
  • providing more than 500 outreach services to schools, local arts agencies and organizations, community centers, performing groups, and individual artists
  • serving as a catalyst for arts programming throughout the state
  • helping arts organizations, groups, and individuals bring the arts to the people of Utah

The Utah Arts Board is a policy-making board composed of 13 members, each appointed to a four-year term by the Governor and ratified by the Utah Senate. Nine seats are dedicated to representatives of the following disciplines: architecture, dance, folk arts, media, music, theatre, sculpture, literature, and visual arts. Four seats are appointed from the community at large.

The process for board and commission nominations is changing. Please check back as we hope to have more information soon.


The goal of our museum services program is to advance the value of museums within Utah and to enable the broadest physical, intellectual, and emotional access to collections and programs. We help Utah museums improve their ability to:

  • care for and manage collections
  • develop quality educational resources
  • provide access to collections for research
  • identify and successfully compete for financial resources

The Utah Museums Board is composed of 11 members, each appointed to a four-year term by the Governor. A minimum of at least six members must be qualified, trained, and experienced museum professionals. The remaining five seats are appointed from the community at large.

The process for board and commission nominations is changing. Please check back as we hope to have more information soon.


Friday, June 21, 2024
Thursday, August 15, 2024
Friday, October 18, 2024
Thursday, January 16, 2025 
Thursday, March 20, 2025
Friday, June 20, 2025

Visit this page to look up the meeting and get details on the time, location, and accessibility. 


Lisa Arnett, Salt Lake City, Prescott Muir Architects, Architecture

John Ballard, Park City, MagicSpace Entertainment, Theater

Larry Cesspooch, Roosevelt, Through Native Eyes Productions, Media Arts

Juan Carlos Claudio, Salt Lake City, Weber State University, Dance

Caitlin Gochnour, Immediate Past Chair, Ogden, At-Large

Amy Jorgensen, Ephraim, Granary Art Center, Visual Arts

Sudha Kargi, Sandy, Kargi Kala Kendra, Folk Arts

Heidi Prokop, Chair, Salt Lake City, Zions Bank, At-Large

Krista Sorenson, Salt Lake City, Sorenson Impact Foundation Board, At-Large

Kelly Stowell, Vice Chair, Kanab, Center for Education, Business, and the Arts, At-Large

LeRoy Transfield, Orem, Sculptor, Sculpture

Sam Tsugawa, Provo, Brigham Young University School of Music, Music

Jeni Wilson, Layton, At-Large

Natalie Young, Cedar City, Sugar House Review, Literary Arts


Susan Adams, Layton, At-Large

Robb Alexander, Roy, Aerospace Heritage Foundation of Utah

Nichol Bourdeaux, Salt Lake City, Utah Transit Authority, At-Large

Diana Call, Vice Chair, St. George, St. George Dinosaur Discovery Site

Derrek Hanson, Salt Lake City, Red Butte Garden

Sharon Johnson, Chair, Logan, Cache County Daughters of Utah Pioneers Museum

Jessica Kinsey, Cedar City, Southern Utah Museum of Art

Forrest Rodgers, Moab, Moab Museum

Janet Smoak, Green River, John Wesley Powell River History Museum

Laura St. Onge, Lehi, Thanksgiving Point Institute