Paul Smith, Salt Lake Valley, 1938 

Alice Merrill Horne Art Collection


Utah’s state-owned art collection began in 1899. Alice Merrill Horne was a candidate for the state legislature on a platform of support for the arts. Once she was elected to the House of Representatives she sponsored a bill to create a state arts organization and to establish a state collection of artwork. In honor of that sponsor, the collection was named the “Alice Art Collection.”  The continued acquisition of artwork by Utah artists comes from purchases selected by the Collection Acquisition Committee and generous donations from patrons and artists.

The collection continues to grow annually by purchases and donations and provides impressive documentation of the history of Utah art. The collection is on display at the Governor’s Mansion, the Glendinning Home, the Rio Grande Depot, the State Capitol building, the Scott Matheson Courthouse, and other state buildings. Selections from the collection are also included in the Traveling Exhibition Program.


The Utah Division of Arts & Museums Visual Arts staff works with a community based Art Acquisition Committee to review and recommend Utah artists for placement in the State of Utah’s Fine and Folk Art Collections. This appointed and volunteer Acquisition Committee offers their considerable knowledge and expertise in advising the Board of Directors of the Division of Arts & Museums for terms of up to four years. The Acquisition Committee members are:

Lila Abersold
Mark Callister
Amy Jorgensen
John T Neilson
Kandace Steadman
Katie Lee Koven
Carol Edison
James Reese
Utah Division of Arts & Museums’ Director, Victoria Bourns

Utah Arts & Museums welcomes public suggestions for additions / donations to the State Fine Art Collection for review by the Acquisitions Committee. The nomination form is available here.


Karen Krieger
Collections Manager

Courtney Miller