Our Boards

Utah Arts Advisory Board

The Utah Arts Council was established in 1899 by the Utah Legislature three short years after Utah received statehood. The Utah Arts Council became the Utah Division of Arts & Museums, which is the primary agency through which funds from the Utah State Legislature and the National Endowment for the Arts combine to stimulate and advance the arts in all their phases in the state. Our agency supports individual artists, arts and cultural organizations, and constituents by:

  • acting as a state coordinator and advisor
  • offering professional development
  • providing direct matching grants to more than 200 nonprofit organizations across the state
  • providing more than 500 outreach services to schools, local arts agencies and organizations, community centers, performing groups, and individual artists
  • serving as a catalyst for arts programming throughout the state
  • helping arts organizations, groups, and individuals bring the arts to the people of Utah

The Utah Arts Board is a policy-making board composed of 13 members, each appointed to a four-year term by the Governor and ratified by the Utah Senate. Nine seats are dedicated to representatives of the following disciplines: architecture, dance, folk arts, media, music, theatre, sculpture, literature, and visual arts. Four seats are appointed from the community at large.

> The process for board and commission nominations is changing. Please check back as we hope to have more information soon.

Utah Arts Advisory Board Members

Lisa Arnett Salt Lake City, Prescott Muir Architects, Architecture
Larry Cesspooch Roosevelt, Through Native Eyes Productions, Media Arts
Juan Carlos Claudio Salt Lake City, Ririe-Woodbury Dance Company, Dance
Jansen Davis Immediate PastChair Centerville, CenterPoint Legacy Theatre, Performing Arts
Caitlin Gochnour Chair Ogden, Former Member, Ogden City Council, At-Large
Amy Jorgensen Ephraim, Granary Art Center, Visual Arts
Sudha Kargi Sandy, Kargi Kala Kendra, Folk Arts
Kimi Kawashima Salt Lake City, Westminster College, Music
Marcia Price Salt Lake City, John and Marcia Price Family Foundation, At-Large
Heidi Prokop Vice Chair Salt Lake City, Zions Bank, At-Large
Krista Sorenson Salt Lake City, Sorenson Impact Foundation Board, At-Large
Kelly Stowell Kanab, Center for Education, Business, and the Arts, At-Large
Leroy Transfield Orem, Sculptor, Sculpture
Jeni Wilson Layton, At-Large
Natalie Young Cedar City, Sugar House Review, Literary Arts

Utah Museums Advisory Board

The goal of our museum services program is to advance the value of museums within Utah and to enable the broadest physical, intellectual, and emotional access to collections and programs. We help Utah museums improve their ability to:

  • care for and manage collections
  • develop quality educational resources
  • provide access to collections for research
  • identify and successfully compete for financial resources

The Utah Museums Board is composed of 11 members, each appointed to a four-year term by the Governor. A minimum of at least six members must be qualified, trained, and experienced museum professionals. The remaining five seats are appointed from the community at large.

> The process for board and commission nominations is changing. Please check back as we hope to have more information soon.

Utah Museums Advisory Board Members

Susan Adams Layton, At-Large
Robb Alexander Roy, Aerospace Heritage Foundation of Utah
Nichol Bourdeaux Salt Lake City, Utah Transit Authority, At-Large
Diana Call St. George, St. George Dinosaur Discovery Site
Carl Camp Chair Fillmore, Territorial Statehouse State Park Museum
Tim Glenn Vice Chair Salt Lake City, Clark Planetarium
Sharon Johnson Logan, Cache County Daughters of Utah Pioneers Museum
Jessica Kinsey Cedar City, Southern Utah Museum of Art
Erin Litvack Salt Lake City, Deputy Mayor, Salt Lake County, At-Large
Laura St. Onge Lehi, Thanksgiving Point Institute
Rita Wright Immediate Past Chair Springville, Springville Museum of Art

The Glass Menagerie, Pioneer Theatre Company
L-R: Hanley Smith and Logan James Hall